No weekend story, but a recipe!

This week I have got nothing to share on my weekend post. Usually it happens only when I am in Chennai. I will be overwhelmed with so many things that I seem to lose focus. But if I am in Bangalore for the weekend and still got nothing to share, it only means one thing – I did nothing. I dont want to write anything about the regular mall/market visits which is so usual for Bangalore population.

There is one thing though, that I tried during the weekend and want to share it out here. Now what else can it be? Of course a recipe!!

I got my hands into a very simple cake making, that can be prepared in less than 20 mins flat. Its the Boost Cake as I call it now πŸ˜›Β I am sure any lovers of chocolate will love this dish to bits and its just a matter of 15-20mins before you can feel the gooeyness of the chocolate satisfying your taste buds. I was badly feeling like having a dessert after Sunday lunch and this cake was just perfect. The highlight of this cake is – it uses neither flour nor oil/butter nor eggs. Did I not mention its a chocolate goodness that is almost fat free? πŸ˜‰ Before I can brag further, here is the recipe!

Boost Cake with Vanilla Ice cream πŸ™‚

Boost Cake:

Ingredients:

  • Chocolate cream biscuits powdered- 1 cup (I used Dark Fantasy biscuits with praline cream filling)
  • Marie biscuits powdered – 1 cup
  • Boost (or any chocolate health drink/cocoa powder) – 2-3 tbsp
  • Milk (I used low fat) – 1 cup or add more if required
  • Baking Powder – 1.5 tsp

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven at 180Β°C for 10-15 mins.
  2. Take a mixing bowl and add the powdered chocolate cream biscuits, marie biscuits, baking powder and boost. Mix it thoroughly.
  3. Slowly add the milk (cold) and beat the mixture for 1 minute. The cake batter should be of the pourable consistency. Adjust the consistency by adding more or less milk.
  4. I found the sweetness of the cake just right for me. If you find it less sweet, you can add sugar (powdered) too.
  5. Line the baking dish with butter paper/parchment sheet. Its important for this cake to have lined as it might stick to the baking dish.
  6. Pour the prepared batter into the baking dish and bake it for 20 mins atΒ 180Β°C.
  7. Check if the cake is cooked by inserting a knife or tooth pick in the center. Let it stay in the oven for 5 more mins before taking it out.
  8. Let it cool for 10 mins before inverting it out and cutting it.

This cake tastes the best warm – its more like a cake that tastes like pudding. Goes really well with Vanilla ice cream. Makes up a quick dessert that beats any store brought choco brownie. Next time I am going to add some chopped almonds just to enhance the texture . But believe me, it was best as it is πŸ™‚ I am sure, this cake can be safely prepared in microwave too. Go ahead and give yourself this treat soon! πŸ™‚

PS – I am sure the cake stays for at least 2 days as I left the cake outside for 2 days and it tasted the same. We only reheated the cake in the microwave Β just before having it πŸ™‚

37 thoughts on “No weekend story, but a recipe!

  1. Why do I end up reading your recipe posts just before lunch? I am soo hungry now 😦
    I am not reading your recipe now but surely when I start baking cakes πŸ™‚

    • You are right Bikram.. it relaxes the mind and after sometimes, makes you feel bored that you will be forced to do something. In my case, I came out with this cake πŸ™‚

  2. You have had one super weekend Gb – doing nothing and enjoying such tempting and easy-to-make cake — I had read about this in another blog but was called mug cake coz’ it can be made in a microwave in a mug and scooped off πŸ˜›
    The texture looks tantalizing πŸ™‚

    • Kismi…… thats right! It was one super weekend only πŸ™‚

      Err… mug cake is slightly different. We use normal cake ingredients but bake it in a mug in a microwave, the cakes oozes out and can be had immediately.. I have tried that too. Tastes amazing πŸ˜€

      Texture looks good isn’t it? Its cos of the marie biscuit magic πŸ˜€ I never thought these boring bikkis can turn into a cake like this πŸ™‚

  3. Wow. That cake looks so tempting, and it is so simple to make!

    One question: Are baking powder and baking soda one and the same? I have a pack of baking soda with me – can I still make this cake or do I need to get baking powder?

    • Yeah its so simple to make! πŸ™‚

      TNGD.. baking powder and baking soda are different. From what I know.. they can only be used when the recipe calls for each of the specifically. Baking soda is nothing but the “samayal soda” that we use. Baking powder has some additional ingredients like starch which makes it best for baking dishes that require rising. Some recipes call for both baking soda and baking powder, in that case there might not any acidic ingredient like milk or yogurt in the recipe.

      In short, you cant use that pack of baking soda here 😐

So, what's your say?

