The Weekend Story – of fighting, cooking and continuous cleaning

I am back with my weekend stories again.. after a long time πŸ™‚ This was one of the happening weekends at GB-dom. There was a lot of action and drama going on. For the first time ever, I felt like time traveled really slow – that too on a weekend. Thanks to the continuous travels to Chennai due to the family issues, we needed a break badly. This was one such weekend where we had that break. I wont say it was relaxing, but it felt great to have the monotony break.

Saturday started early, with me getting up at 5 in the morning (!) I dont know how I manage to do it, but I get up early on a weekend and oversleep on a weekday 😦 I forced myself to bed for some more time, before getting up at 6 again.. thats it! I gave up my fight with the bed and got up. How can I let S sleep for long, when I got up early? So.. I switched off the fan and made sure I kept high volume on TV πŸ™‚ But S being S managed to sleep with all the external and internal noises until 8.45.Β QuicklyΒ prepared a breakfast of “Pindi” (as I call it at home) which tastes awesome with Andhra Avakkai pickle. Right after the breakfast, I had to load the wahsing machine and catch up with other tasks. Thats when we had our first fight (ok a mini fight). S wanted to go toΒ Phoenix City Mall, the idea seemed to interest me too but my mind was stuck on to one thing. I had been wanting to go to a place to get some baking raw materials which didnt get materialized. Saturday seemed just perfect for it with the only problem being both of us had different plans. S planned of having lunch at the mall and then do a little shopping, whereas I wanted to squeeze in both the mall and baking shopping plan on the same day. We had arguments, at one point S said we will go only for baking goods shopping and thats when I switched back to the mall idea. Finally, we went ahead with the mall idea and decided to go for raw materials finding if we had time later. Sometimes I feel arguments and fights bring us together. Once in the mall, we were like the ideal couple. If not for silly fights and arguments, that kind of happiness cant be experienced.

I always have bad luck with whatever I choose to eat, always. After scrutinizing the entire food court couple of times, I went ahead with Pad Thai noodles and S got a subway sandwich. I couldnt feel like eating those noodles after my first mouthful. I ended up liking S’s sub *This happens all the time with me* But since I was being very good and all, I let him eat his sandwich, without asking him to sacrifice and on top of it, made him eat my noodles too. My poor S πŸ˜› After a lot of pushing, I ordered myself some paneer roll and by the time I could have a bite of it, I had terrible headache. I really cant stay hungry for long *one more fact re-enforced* I became my crankiest best. Nothing interested me.Β Walking long stretches with headache was so not my idea.Β If that has to be coupled with selecting shirts and pants for S – Oh pls! I was wishing to find a chair. thankfully, S selected his stuff quickly (duly rejecting whatever I selected, or for that matter wherever I laid my hands on). We were in the ladies section. These days, I am experiencing something weird. There is no urge in me to buy anything – even if its really really essential to me. Withdrawn from shopping as well 😦 S selected some 3 kurtis for me and I was glad we made a move. I am sure I wont try them any time sooner too. I am feeingl really uninterested in such things these days. Does all my symptoms mean anything together? I am not sure!

With a Gloria jean Caramelatte, my headache was showing signs of leaving me. While I was keen on going back home, S insisted he wanted to shop for home theater system. Given the fact that I can barely tolerate any loud noise.. I was not really sure. But he went ahead and bought it, gah!! On the way back home, I had the most amazing bike drive ever. The climate was cool, breeze with a light drizzle and it was darker for 4.30 in the evening. I just love this kind of a drive, anytime anywhere πŸ™‚

Caramelatte!!

I made Dosa Pizza and Dosa LasagnaΒ for dinner while S struggled to set up the speakers. Since I was more hungry, I couldnt lay my hands on anything expect the food, that explains the reason for photos being missing. I am now regretting, why I didnt click even a single pic atleast with my mobile. But the good thing is, I will try these dishes one more time for the photos πŸ™‚

Sunday again saw me wake up early and I decided to make puris (one of the S’s fav) for breakfast. Needless to mention, he loved a lot. Me? I had only phulkas. He loves the oily version of anything and I want the non-oily version πŸ™‚ We are opposite that ways! Immediately after breakfast, we loaded ourselves with 2 brooms, 4 waste cloths and a bucket of water. We started cleaning the hall and completed it with the bathrooms. It was like the clean sweep. Nothing was spared, everything that caught our eye was washed, wiped and cleaned.The end result – we are left with a clean home πŸ™‚ I wont say, there isn’t scope for further cleaning but we have cleaned almost everything πŸ™‚ I never thought I would enjoy cleaning as much as I did yesterday. If I make it once in a week thing, I will go passionate about cleaning I guess πŸ˜‰ In between we had several arguments, all petty though. We kept snapping at each other for silly things. Meanwhile, I prepared mushroom – sprout spaghetti for lunch – again no pic as hungry stomach called for its action rather than photo clicking. After lunch, as we both were lazing around – I heard the sound of bell from the street. It was the ice-cream wala. S got me a choc fudge and it felt awesome – to buy ice cream from the ice cream wala off the road, Its been ages since I did that. later, S had his nap and I made the best use of my baking dish. I made the most simplest yet tasty dish – Apple Crumble. Tasted wonderful with Vanilla ice cream. A perfect blend of Sweet baked apples with a buttery crisp biscuity crumble tasting like heaven with vanilla ice cream!

We again had a big argument for something thats not even worth mentioning and it took me like an hour to get back to normal. We then went to Balaji temple and had some pleasant, relaxing time there. I am not sure of S, but I love going to temples. We came back home and then I prepared dinner – and this is what I came up with! I just loved it because I didnt take a easy way out of having dinner out.

Egg Biryani!!! πŸ˜€

This was how we spent our weekend. How was yours?

34 thoughts on “The Weekend Story – of fighting, cooking and continuous cleaning

  1. So you had a super week-end! You are newly married and have fights which is kind of understandable..Here, after six years, the fights are only getting intense..
    You also can’t stay hungry for a long time? Me too me too πŸ™‚
    Even I get that weird feeling of not wanting to buy anything for myself once in a while..so I call myself ‘very responsible and mature’ during such times as I am saving money πŸ˜‰ Sweet of S to have bought you those kurtis..
    Romantic drive in the drizzle, eh? good, good, wishing you lots more of such drives πŸ™‚
    It’s actually fun to clean the house together, right.of course only when there are no fights πŸ™‚
    You have started using you new bakeware! I am drooling over all your dishes, photographed ones, not photographed ones..yummmm
    You want to know how my week-end was? well, all my week-days resemble week-ends now πŸ˜€

    • Hey Nith πŸ™‚ That was a super weekend of course sans the fights we had.. ha ha ha..you call me newly married?! Nith its okay to have fights and little arguments.. if we can patch up quickly and only then more love flows eh πŸ˜›

      Wow.. I so love this idea.. hereafter I am going to call myself mature and responsible too, but I assume such times are going to be lesser πŸ™‚

      Thanks a lot Nith πŸ™‚ For now.. it should only be a romantic drive in the drizzle or else we will be completely wet! πŸ™‚

      I only learnt its fun to clean the house together, will do it more often πŸ™‚

      I am so glad, I made you drool πŸ˜› Let me post the recipes for these dishes and then you can actually taste them too πŸ™‚

      what what what? weekends are same as week days ah? I wish this phase goes off sooner for you! Wish you to have loads of fun during weekends πŸ™‚

  2. that was nice picture of food.. :).. missing the other photos though.. so it was an eventful weekend.. hope u will keep enjoying cleaning period for long.. πŸ˜›

  3. See, I knew you would put that baking dish to good use πŸ™‚ That apple crumble looks so yummy… but no recipe? 😦 (I checked your food blog also)
    You cleaned so much and then went ahead and cooked something as exotic as ” mushroom – sprout spaghetti” πŸ™„ Had it been me we would have had maggi for lunch πŸ˜›
    You come back tired and with a headache after shopping and make “Dosa Pizza and Dosa Lasangne for dinner” πŸ™„ GB, I am amazed at your cooking capabilities.. and this when you are having withdrawal symptoms from the kitchen!!!
    Silly fights and arguments are fun πŸ™‚

    • Awww thanks LS for having such high expectations on me πŸ˜€ I tried to put up the recipe today, but couldnt find time.. I will surely put it up tomorrow, in this blog! πŸ™‚

      I was so hungry LS… maggi wouldn’t have sufficed me πŸ˜› and Spaghetti is very easy.. I have also been meaning to put up a spaghetti recipe (my simple version) sometime, I will do that also soon πŸ™‚

      Again. Dosa pizza and lasangne was was very simple.. I will make it some other time and put up the recipe πŸ™‚ Moreover, S was drowned in his hiome theatr system.. I had to kill my time.. so, I prepared elaborate dinner πŸ™‚ he he he.. I think I am slowly coming out from my withdrawal syndrome, weekend is the proof.. πŸ™‚

      Agree to you totally – they are fun πŸ™‚

  4. From where do you girls get so much energy to clean the whole house and cook such an awesome food!!Share the secret!! πŸ˜€
    My weekend was good too. Will write about it πŸ˜€

    • hahahaha πŸ˜€ SS.. I am yet to find that secret dear! I will be on cleaning spree very rarely only.. but for cooking.. I will have all the energy cos its my passion πŸ™‚

      SS.. do write about it.. πŸ™‚ I love to read more from you πŸ™‚

    • Will share the recipe soon, Jas πŸ™‚ Apple crumble first and for the dosa ones, pls wait until next weekend πŸ™‚ I will also click pictures of those this time!

  5. Very happening weekend that!!!
    I love Dosa and l love Lasagna, so i am sure, i’ll love Dosa Lasagna πŸ™‚
    waiting for the recipe….
    So, finally you used your new baking dish to make apple crumble!!!!
    Arey, what happened to you, pehle kitchen se withdrawal (thankfully you are back) and then shopping se!!!!! hope this too is a passing phase…

    • Yes yes.. very happening weekend ZM πŸ™‚

      I will try to post the recipe for Dosa Lasagna very soon… I am sure you would love it, and its very simple too!

      Yeah.. the baking dish was put to good use πŸ™‚

      What happened to me ZM.. Seriously.. I am having all sorts of withdrawal symptoms.. but as Nithvin pointed out.. I am just going to say, I am getting matured and responsible πŸ˜†

      But seriously, I want this phase to go off soon!

  6. Gb all that sounds so yummmmm gb πŸ™‚ wowie ! Ya, you seem to be coming out of the cooking withdrawal – don’t be surprised if you keep vacillating πŸ™‚

    Shopping withdrawal I also tend to have in phases – they don’t last long enough for K to celebrate them adequately :p like, sometimes he takes me to a lovely store and I am like , nah, I don’t want anything, can I buy sketch pens ? But, this too shall suuuuurely pass πŸ˜‰

    Gb your weekend stories Are such fun to read and I totally lust them though I did not get any updates about your psot this time 😦 anyways, I hardly need that coz I keep coming here πŸ™‚

    I will look forward to the recipes – am yet tpget back on track in the kitchen with K washing dishes and doing most of the work πŸ™‚

    Loved reading you gb:)

    • Kismi Kismi.. I am so glad you loved those dishes πŸ™‚ I think I am coming out of cooking withdrawal too, but need to give it some more time πŸ™‚

      Its exactly how it happens with me too!! When I am in an awesome store.. i dont want anything from there and instead feel like having some other simpler things πŸ˜€ I have been making S feel so suspicious by this behaviour.. he was like – how can you say, you are nt interested?!?!? This has been happening for almost 2-3 months πŸ˜€

      Aaahhh Kismi.. you are so sweet to feel that way.. otherwise.. who will like to read my boring day to day stories? πŸ™‚

      what you didnt get update? 😦 I am facing the issue sometimes! WP is acting all weird.

      I hope and wish you to get back to your kitchen real soon.. and then we will get to read and see awesome foodie pics!

      Thanks for being there sweetie πŸ™‚

    • and Now that I have read the post , I am more hungry .. I want that dosa tooo .. not a good idea to have come to the post first thing in morning 😦 … lunch time is so far awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy…

      your weekend was definitely much much better then mine for sure .. heres wishing tons of happy times all the time πŸ™‚

      • How I wish I could send all my dishes to you πŸ™‚ make sure you have a heavy lunch to compensate for all this reading!

        I must say, this weekend was much better πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot Bikram πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Bikram ji πŸ˜€ You just made my day!! I am flying so so high πŸ™‚

      Let me freeze some of it and send you?? πŸ˜›

      Welcome here, hope to see more often here πŸ™‚

  7. Apple crumble, mushroom spaghetti, dosa pizza and all other stuff..

    Did someone say they had kitchen withdrawal symptoms πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    I wish that the cleanliness bug bites you..am slowly recovering from it πŸ˜†

    Looks like a well spent weekend GB πŸ™‚ any plans for this weekend?

    • Me Me Me!! I was the one with withdrawal symptoms πŸ˜€
      I had to make sure I come out of it Visha.. thats why cooked as much as I could πŸ˜›

      You want that bug to bite me.. hehehe πŸ˜› But you know.. its much more fun that I thought. Cleaning was something I considered boring, but now I have a different idea!

      Not sure of this weekend, Visha.. Chennai again? Not sure!

  8. Loved reading your weekend chronicles. πŸ™‚

    From where do you find the energy to cook, clean and go out too, lady? Superwoman you are!

    Dosa pizza and dosa lasagne sounds yumm. Recipes pls! Would love to have pics too! πŸ˜‰

    Recipe for the apple crumble, too, pls?

    How did you like Phoenix Mall? Have you visited Orion Mall? There is a shop called Debenhams there, where I spotted some nice baking stuff – like measuring jars and all – haven’t seen them anywhere else.

    I wake up early on weekends too, and then wonder what to do the whole day. On weekdays, when I have to rush to work, I oversleep. πŸ™‚

    • I am glad, you liked my weekend chronicles TNGD πŸ™‚

      cooking was on day 2 and so was cleaning. Going out on day 1.. I find it real hard to go out and then come home to do the other chores.. I am no super woman TNGD, just a normal person.. sometimes when the excitement builds up in me.. I cook.. cleaning.. very very occasionally πŸ˜€ This was the only weekend, where I managed to do all the three!

      I will share the apple crumble recipe soon.. thought of doing it today, but will try soon. Its very simple. For dosa recipes, let me get the pics first πŸ˜€

      S loved the mall more than me.. I dont like anything that confuses my choices.. This mall was pretty big and with so many number of shops, I was confused what to do πŸ™‚ if clear headed ppl visit, they will surely like it πŸ™‚ I have not been to Orion TNGD, let me find out where it is.. Not heard of that shop too – I will see if I can go sometime πŸ™‚

      he he he πŸ˜› I think our sleep patterns match a lot πŸ™‚

  9. Next time you come to chennai let me know, I’ll come for a crash course on how to cook, clean, shop and fight all in two days. For me its either of the one and I prefer fighting since it is easier:-). you are just awesome girl.

  10. Ohhhh I told you already…u are such a super-talented ladki πŸ˜€

    Cleaning and then so much cooking!!! with a withdrawal symptom to kitchen!!! wow!!

    Even we spent the whole saturday morning cleaning and de-clutter movement, but then had khichdi, omlettes & papad for lunch πŸ™‚

    Aha..the choice of food thing happens with me as well..even I end eating half of SG’s choice of food from his plate and make him eat my choice πŸ™‚

      • Even I miss that N.. 😐 Thought of having a new look.. atleast to increase the font size πŸ™‚ Will go back to the old template in few days!

    • Awww thanks a lot N πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      No No.. all the cooking was to come out of the withdrawal πŸ™‚

      Wow.. I would have loved omelettes with khichdi and papad πŸ™‚ we both had a cleaning weekend and yay to the clean home now πŸ™‚

      We are so much alike then I guess.. its not once or twice.. every single time, I do this πŸ™‚ Thank God we have good husbands, who dont fight over this silly thing πŸ˜›

So, what's your say?

