Why me and Why today?

Things that had been happening to me from morning today…

I got up at 3.30 this morning, with a weird dream where I had the ‘Tuesdaysย with Morrie‘ book in my hand and I am sitting in some cafe. Side by side, I am also reading Kismi’s post on the same book and am totally relating the book to her post. It lasted for not more than 3 minutes but left an impact on me that I got up immediately searching for the book only to realize it was a dream.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I had been thinking about the book a lot the day I read her post.. but getting a dream in reference to it after almost a week!? I know, I am too slow!

I usually plan my day’s menu one day in advance, with the required vegetables chopped and kept ready. With no energy to think of anything except for sleep last night, Iย didn’tย do any preparation for today’s lunch or breakfast. Falling asleep right after 2 mins thought on my book dream, I had anย elaborateย dream again (!) In my dream, I had prepared vegetable biryani, made some onion raita, also prepared breakfast of dosa and coconut chutney and I had also completed packing our lunch bags with no tension at all. It was about for a while I enjoyed the dream. When I woke up to the reality, it was already 7.10 (sob sob ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ). I had over slept, that too when I had a meeting at 8.30! I had to very quickly decide the menu, prepare everything from scratch or have horrible cafe food.

After making some quick sambar, rice , cabbage stir fry and dosa, the clock showed me 8.10. With less than 10 mins to get ready, I quickly showered and literally stuffed some pieces of dosa into my mouth and prepared myself to run to office. Only on this day, the clock decided to cheat on me. It was running slow (sob sob :() and my mobile showed 8.31Am and I was already 1 minute overdue for my meeting ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I had to take fast fast steps, running at some places to avoid completeย embarrassmentย in office. Usually, it would take 15 minutes for me to reach office. But today I had to wait 10 more minutes to cross a single road.. After running across vehicles from both the directions, somehow crossed the road . Only then, I saw that I forgot my office ID card ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Demanding a temp ID card, I ran to the security desk, who took all the time in the world to give me one badge. After getting into that never-comes-soon-in-need lift, I came to my cube at 8.50. Late to the meeting by 20 minutes ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Before I could dial into the meeting, my laptop tested my patience to no end. It took so long to boot up.

What awaited me on checking my laptop was a shock. My laptop refused to connect to my office network (very weird!) and I had to take it to the service people ๐Ÿ˜ฆ After a long wait there, I came back to my cubicle and by the time I joined the meeting, 3/4th of it was over. By missing most of the important topics, I couldn’t understand the rest and it was more like a waste of time. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Just then, I found my temp ID card missing! I searched all over my cube, no where to be found. Now, if the badge goes missing, its a big deal here. I will be asked to give police complaint n all. With all these consequences running through my head, I searched if the badge is held somewhere in my dress or duppatta. No. It decided to reach the most inaccessible corner of the cubicle, with part of it going under the partition of the cubicle wall.. Inviting stares and funny looks from myย colleagues and aisle mates, I had to do a Shastang Pranam to get the ID card back.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have no idea how it fell there….

The meeting got extended another half an hour which means an extended session of Greek n Latin to me. With all the rush and running in the morning, I had no clue how I looked. So I went to the loo after the meeting only to find out I looked stupid. Why? I had only one earring and the other was missing! And it happens to be my favorite one ๐Ÿ˜ฆ After another round ofย searchingย my dress, duppatta and cubicle, I removed the other earring. As an after thought, I understood why so many people were giving me that ‘weird’ look from the morning.. I had been going around all the places with one earring ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I cribbed to myself and tried to recollect where could I have missed the earring for sometime and soon, it was time for another meeting – which happened to swallow my lunch time. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

My friend came down to my cube some time back to check something. Finding me sad and dull, she thought I was feeling sick and then only realised I didnt have my earrings. I told her the story of my lost earring and she exclaimed – Aiyo, which one is it? I wanted to show her the earring that I had left on the table and it was no where to be foundย as I have successfully managed to miss the other one too.

Perfect, no?

I don’t know what else is in store for me today!

22 thoughts on “Why me and Why today?

    • ha ha Visha ๐Ÿ™‚ I like this.. My day started with a dream on Kismi’s post ๐Ÿ™‚ She is to be blamed ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Helloo girlies :))

        Did anyone say toffee?

        Gb i am so happy you dreamt of the masterpiece and my post also ๐Ÿ™‚ loved knowing that. This is one dream you must realize dearie ๐Ÿ™‚
        Ohho and how is toffee to be blamed?
        Because of toffee you realized that id was missing and got it back. And and now you have a great excuse to shop for new earrings because of toffee.

        Tee hee ๐Ÿ™‚ am i good or what?
        Hugs gb ๐Ÿ™‚ these days make you happy on happy days and normal days dearie. I hope you cooked for therapeutic effect and ended the day well ๐Ÿ™‚
        Hightime you caught up with the book n coffee n kismis post muah

      • ha… here is toffee.. ๐Ÿ™‚

        You know how happy I was in my dreams.. first it was that book I wished to hold and then the awesome food.. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am going to read the book, Kismi. My dream has only intensified my desire for it.

        Oh yeah… I am going to shop for new earrings ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

        *hugs back to you Kismi*

        My bad day actually continued and the rest of the evening was pretty bad and things took unexpected turns..No, I didnt cook ๐Ÿ˜

        Waiting for a better today and its Friday already… Yippe!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. Oh My God!!! Bad day but see the silver linign with so many wrongs happening at the same time nothing mroe can go wrong now ๐Ÿ™‚

    So chill and give yourself some rest because there are days and then there are days. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And yes I too get vivid dreams and sometimes they can be very troubling.

    • Oh Smita.. I didn’t see that silver lining, thanks for highlighting ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes, nothing more could have gone wrong!

      I am already a bad sleeper. Today’s dream was much better compared to the ones I have got previously… I usually get a constant dream where I am chased by snakes or animals.. and I get up with a sudden shock.. so, I am not really complaining of today’s dream.. but I was disappointed that the book was not in my hands really ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It actually went wrong after that also… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I had an appointment in a hospital at 5, reached the place at 4.55 to learn that the doctor wont come earlier than 6. I had to go back home and again go to that place at 6. The doctor was busy and I had to wait until 6.30 and by the time I reached home it was 8.15.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ A hungry me = a cranky me.. so S had a tough time with me ๐Ÿ˜› To pacify me, he tried preparing dinner – it was a major flop and yes, my bad day continued till I went to sleep ๐Ÿ˜›

      Hope it will be better today ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Aiyo! tight hugs GB
    Maybe cause it was the longest day of the year you happened to have a long chain of mishaps ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I can so imagine how stressed, hungry, angry, agitated and tired you must have been at the time you wrote this post.
    Hope you are feeling heaps better when you read my comment. Did you finally find your earrings?
    Hugs again

    • Tight tight hugs ME ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yeah.. the day didn’t give me any peace, things turned out pretty bad by the end of the day.. atleast I had a good night’s sleep.

      Hoping for a brighter friday, today!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      No ME.. the earrings are gone.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but as Kismi said, I can shop for new ones now – a silver lining to my cloud of mishaps ๐Ÿ˜€

      hugs hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ayio.. when it was already late why did u decide cook re.. u should have store of bread and butter.. and just run for meeting na…
    u lost both the earrings.. may be somebody flicked it.. dont worry, nothing more worse will happen..
    cheer up now..

    • It should have done it AM.. late realization.. what to do ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Thanks for cheering me up ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Today is much better and its friday too…. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I am yet to find that silver lining Deepsi, but its past now.. with only 3 hrs remaining to close the day at work, we must be happy!! its friday!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      hugs back to you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. OMG in almost an hour and half’s time you cooked and got ready too? i salute!!!

    lol @ shashtang pranam ๐Ÿ˜›

    totally tough day on you GB ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and I know how it feels to loose your fav earring ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I lost one of it but have still kept another one…for keepsakes!

    • Oh Scribby…. nothing much.. I made some rice and curry I guess… ๐Ÿ™‚

      yeah I did a shastang pranam ๐Ÿ™„ really

      Yeah.. the day was totally bad… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      oh no.. you too? achooo… Even I have found my other one luckily..

So, what's your say?

